There are a few things I don’t leave my house without. Included in that list would be my phone, my student ID, and a snack, respectively. But it wasn’t until recently that I started to take the phrase, “don’t leave without a smile,” seriously.

First of all, it’s super cheesy. Sure, I’ll take my smile with me *insert eye roll.* But now that I’m somewhere new and different, I can see that it has some credibility. There are plenty of reasons to put an effort forth in trying to smile more.

1) It makes you look friendly

When I’m walking down the sidewalk on the way to class, I pass hundreds of people. Out of those hundreds, maybe only five smile at me as we make awkward eye contact. But you know what? Those are the people I remember and think to myself, “I bet that person is pretty friendly and nice.” Smiling at someone is like recognizing their existence and I believe feeling recognized is important. So smile at strangers and make them feel good.

2) RBF is not cool

I’ve heard jokes. I’ve looked at memes. I’ve seen it in person. Resting B*tch Face is not cute, despite what you might have heard. Why would you want to go around looking like you hate everyone in a five mile radius of you? I hope the answer is that you wouldn’t. I’ve been guilty of catching myself scowling and I try to correct that because if I was choosing a seat in class, it wouldn’t be next to the person who looks like they would cut me if I said hey. You don’t have to be constantly cheesin’, but don’t look like you are pissed at the human population.

3) Smiling can actually make you feel happier

In the article, ‘Does Smiling Make You Happy?,’ by Julia Layton, she discusses the multiple studies done on the effects of smiling. By engaging the facial muscles in a smile, the brain can be tipped in the right direction and let off, ‘happy hormones.’ Faking a smile may not make you the happiest person alive, but it can apparently show you the door to being happier, so why not? It’s free, too.

4) It makes you more attractive

People who smile have been found to be more attractive. There could be many reasons for this, ranging from the fact that smiling makes you happier and therefore those around you feel happy to be by you, all the way to the question – who doesn’t love someone who has a great smile? You’re more approachable when you smile, so you’re more likely to meet new people and form relationships with those around you.

5) It’s the most natural facial expression

Babies smile in their sleep as soon as they’re born. They start to smile while they’re awake at around a month of being alive. And that’s every baby in the whole world, making it the most natural and understood facial expression. So don’t tell yourself that you’re just not a smiley person, you’ve been doing it since you were born.

Smiling is a concept that cuts across every social, economic, racial, religious, and language barrier. It is mutually beneficial for the giver and the receiver. Here are 15 more facts about smiling if you don’t believe me. So just smile friends, you’ll enjoy it, but that’s just what nugget says.

XOXO

